2018 GLIAC Softball Postseason Awards & All-Conference Teams Announced

2018 GLIAC Softball Postseason Awards & All-Conference Teams Announced

SANDUSKY, Ohio -- The Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) announced its 2018 All-GLIAC Softball Teams and Postseason Awards in conjunction with the Conference's annual Softball Tournament at Sports Force Parks in Sandusky, Ohio. The awards were voted on by the conference softball coaches.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Kyleigh Payne, Purdue Northwest

In Purdue Northwest's first year as a member of the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference, senior Kyleigh Payne wasted no time establishing herself as an offensive force at the NCAA Division II level and becomes the first PNW athlete to earn a GLIAC Player of the Year award.  Payne helped the Pride to a fourth-place finish in the league regular season standings and led the conference in several offensive categories this season.  She boasted the GLIAC's top batting average (.440) and also led the league in hits (62), triples (9), on-base percentage (.549) and slugging percentage (.851).  Payne also ranked second in the league in home runs (10) and third overall in RBI (39).  Defensively at first base, she led the GLIAC in putouts (383) and had an impressive fielding percentage of .976.  On March 26, Payne became the first female athlete at PNW to earn a GLIAC Player of the Week award.  She started all 49 games for PNW at first base this season and also finished first in the conference in total bases (120), 14 more than the next highest finisher, as well as extra-base hits (29).  On April 26, Payne was named the Purdue Northwest Female Athlete of the Year for the 2017-18 academic year.

PITCHER OF THE YEAR: Allison Lipovsky, Grand Valley State

Grand Valley State junior Allison Lipovsky has earned her second consecutive GLIAC Pitcher of the Year award after posting a 17-3 overall record and an 11-1 mark in conference action. The 2016 GLIAC Freshman of the Year and two-time first team honoree led all GLIAC pitchers in ERA (0.72), strikeouts (239), strikeouts per game (12.21), shutouts (12), and batting average against (.138). Eight of her 12 shutouts came against GLIAC opponents, where her strikeouts per game jumped up to 13.07. Lipovsky also currently leads the nation with 12.1 strikeouts per seven innings and an 11.34 strikeout to walk ratio, while ranking inside the top four in total strikeouts, shutouts, ERA, and hits allowed per seven innings. She recorded 15 double-digit strikeout games this season, including eight in her last eight starts of the regular season. Lipovsky is also currently one of just 25 national finalists for the 2018 Schutt Sports/NFCA Division II National Player of the Year award.

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Bryanna Kressler, Wayne State

Bryanna Kressler becomes the seventh Wayne State player to be named GLIAC Freshman of the Year since the award was instituted in 1989.   Kressler started all 28 conference games and led the Warriors with a .372 batting average (35-for-94), and struck out just three times in 99 league plate appearances.  She had a team-best 10 multiple-hit games in GLIAC play, including a 15-game hitting streak.  A versatile player, Kressler made 20 starts in center field, five in the circle, two at shortstop and one as the designated player.  She led all WSU outfielders with four assists.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Dana Callihan, Grand Valley State

Fourth-year head coach Dana Callihan led the Lakers to their second straight GLIAC Regular Season Championship, as GVSU finished 37-7 overall and 24-2 in conference action. This is the eighth season in a row that the Lakers have marked at least 30 wins and it is the fourth such time under Callihan. From March 8th through April 20th, the Lakers rattled off 21-straight wins – 16 of which were against GLIAC opponents – to tie the second longest streak in program history. Callihan has guided the Lakers to their second straight #1-seed in the conference tournament and coached the GLIAC Pitcher of the Year and six All-GLIAC First Team honorees. This is the second GLIAC Coach of the Year award for Callihan, as she was named co-coach last season as well.

For a complete list of the 2018 All-GLIAC Softball Teams click below:

2018 All-GLIAC Softball Teams
All-GLIAC First Team
Pos. Name School Yr. Hometown
1B Kyleigh Payne Purdue Northwest Sr. Bourbonnais, Ill.
2B Meredith Rousse Saginaw Valley Sr. Bay City, Mich.
SS Brooke Lambert Tiffin So. Lancaster, Ohio
3B Teagan Shomin Grand Valley State Sr. Grand Rapids, Mich.
C Sydni Culps Northwood Jr. Shelby Township, Mich.
OF Brooke Henning Grand Valley State Fr. Blissfield, Mich.
OF Sydni Pauley Northwood Sr. Wyandotte, Mich.
OF Bryanna Kressler Wayne State Fr. Kitchener, Ont.
DP Alexa Flores Davenport So. Commerce, Mich.
UT Kaylie Rhynard Grand Valley State Jr. Shepherd, Mich.
P Allison Lipovsky Grand Valley State Jr. Harrison, Mich.
P Mallory Teunissen Davenport Jr. Dorr, Mich.
P Allie Grys Grand Valley State Sr. Portland, Mich.
AL (1B) Nikoma Holmen Grand Valley State Fr. Wyoming, Mich.
AL (C) Emily Reed Ferris State Sr. Bay City, Mich.
All-GLIAC Second Team
Pos. Name School Yr. Hometown
1B Kylie Asmus Ashland Jr. Haskins, Ohio
2B Camille Pollutro Ashland So. Painesville, Ohio
SS Hannah McClounie Wayne State Jr. Essex, Ont.
3B Paige Summers Ashland Jr. Dalton, Ohio
C Cassie Haight Ashland So. Grafton, Ohio
OF Danielle Hamilton Saginaw Valley Sr. Howell, Mich.
OF Maddy Burgess Saginaw Valley Sr. Commerce, Mich.
OF Maddie Coulter Northwood So. Reese, Mich.
DP Ashley Messina Wayne State Jr. Troy, Mich.
UT Courtney Reeves Saginaw Valley Sr. Kenosha, Wis.
P Kimmy Reynolds Tiffin Sr. Lima, Ohio
P Anna Conard Saginaw Valley Sr. Green Bay, Wis.
P Hannah Stroe Ashland Jr. Macedonia, Ohio
AL (SS) Aubree Mouthaan Saginaw Valley Jr. Cedar Springs, Mich.
AL (UT) Holly Pagan Purdue Northwest Sr. Bartlett, Ill.
All-GLIAC Honorable Mention Team
Pos. Name School Yr. Hometown
OF Erika Farst Ashland Jr. Lucas, Ohio
SS Bree Gill Ashland So. Creston, Ohio
C/INF Rachel Griffin Davenport Fr. Jackson, Mich.
INF Selene Pauley Davenport So. Wyandotte, Mich.
1B Sarah Meredith Ferris State So. Rogers City, Mich.
P Abby Highway Ferris State So. Kentwood, Mich.
C Jessica Ramos Grand Valley State Sr. Rockford, Mich.
OF Bailey Thatcher Grand Valley State Fr. Russiaville, Ind.
1B Abby Joseph Northwood Jr. Garden City, Mich.
1B/3B Torriya Gray-Baker Northwood So. Oakville, Ont.
OF Samme Miller Purdue Northwest Sr. North Salem, Ind.
IF Taylor Kotzo Purdue Northwest Jr. Munster, Ind.
1B Evy Lobdell Saginaw Valley Sr. Stockbridge, Mich.
OF Lauren Bachert Saginaw Valley Sr. Grand Ledge, Mich.
OF Libby Crow Tiffin Jr. Findlay, Ohio
OF Jamie Sevenish Tiffin Jr. New Albany, Ohio
P/UT Megan Guitar Wayne State Jr. Croswell, Mich.
2B Rainey Psenicka Wayne State Fr. Guelph, Ont.