GLIAC Captures 13 ABCA All-Region Selections; Childers & Jandron Players of the Year

GLIAC Captures 13 ABCA All-Region Selections; Childers & Jandron Players of the Year

2017 ABCA All-Region Baseball Release

ABCA – The 2017 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. II All-Region teams and Regional Players of the Year have been announced in all eight regions. The teams are voted on by members of the American Baseball Coaches Association and the process is led by the ABCA NCAA Div. II All-America Committee.

The GLIAC landed 13 All-Region honorees, including six First-Team selections, including Ohio Dominican's Justin Childers being named Player of the Year, while Northwood's Tyler Jandron claimed Pitcher of the Year accolades.

2017 Midwest-ABCA/Rawlings All-Region Teams
NCAA Div. II Midwest All-Region First Team
Pos. Player Cl. School State
C Austin Szink Sr. Walsh OH
1B Justin Childers Jr. Ohio Dominican OH
OF David Vinsky Fr. Northwood MI
OF Connor Foley Sr. Northwood MI
P Tyler Jandron Jr. Northwood OH
RP Ryan McSweeney Sr. Walsh OH
NCAA Div. II Midwest All-Region Second Team
Pos. Player Cl. School State
C Steven Ring So. Hillsdale MI
INF Tony Evans Sr. Ohio Dominican OH
OF Lee Sponseller Jr. Ohio Dominican OH
DH Ethan Wiskur Sr. Hillsdale MI
P Matt Iosue Sr. Walsh OH
P Ryan Arnold Jr. Grand Valley State MI
RP Matt Williams Sr. Grand Valley State MI
Midwest Position Player of the Year: Justin Childers, Jr., 1B, Ohio Dominican
Midwest Pitcher of the Year: Tyler Jandron, Jr., Northwood


ABCA/Rawlings All-Region first-team selections are nominated for ABCA/Rawlings All-America honors. The ABCA/Rawlings All-Americans will be announced on Tuesday, May 30. The ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove Team will be announced on Wednesday, June 21.

The ABCA All-America team was first recognized in 1949 and now includes nine divisions: NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA Divisions I, II and III, Pacific Association Division, and high school. ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove teams were first recognized in 2007.

The Chair of the ABCA NCAA Div. III All-America & Coach of the Year Committee is Rudy Garbalosa of Lynn University. Also on the committee are Jim Gantt of Catawba College, Harry Hillson of Mansfield University, Rick Giannetti of Dominican College, Rob Penders of St. Edwards University, Kyle Poock of Winona State University, Jamie Detillion of Grand Valley State University and Randy Betten of Cal Poly Pomona.

The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 8,000 members represent all 50 states and 25 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 74th annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 4-7, 2018 in Indianapolis, Indiana.

About Rawlings
Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. is an innovative manufacturer and marketer of sporting goods worldwide. Founded in 1887, Rawlings is an authentic global sports brand, trusted by generations of athletes of all skill levels. Rawlings' unparalleled quality, innovative engineering and expert craftsmanship are the fundamental reasons why more professional athletes, national governing bodies and sports leagues choose Rawlings. Rawlings is the Official Ball Supplier and Batting Helmet of Major League Baseball®, the official baseball of Minor League Baseball™ and the NCAA®, and the approved baseball, basketball, football and softball of the National High School Federation®. For more information, please visit or by phone at (314) 819-2800.